EUPRERA Best Paper Awards

Among the papers submitted on our 2020 theme The Camino of strategic communication: (re)-discovering the human element in public relations, the EUPRERA Best Paper Awards are given to the authors of the three papers with the highest rankings in a two-stage, blind peer-review process performed by a scientific committee of renowned international scholars, headed by Sabine Einwiller from University of Vienna. The three winning papers:

Revisiting Public Relations’ (Hi)Stories: A Narrative Approach to Progress in a Multi-Paradigmatic Discipline
by Peter Winkler and Jannik Kretschmer
Public Relations “avant la lettre”: Press Accreditation during Russo – Turkish War (1877 – 1878)
by Valentin Vasile
Stress Resilience: A Key Competence For Professionals In Public Relations
by Daniel Ziegele and Ansgar Zerfass
Press release
Emerald Professional Impact Award

Emerald Group Publishing, publisher of Journal of Communication Management, delivered the yearly Emerald Professional Impact Award for the best research-based paper that is not only academically sound, but which makes an important and useful contribution to the practice of communication management.

The paper addresses issues of current concern to managers and also successfully discusses the research’s implications to managers and for practice. The winning paper is:

Meaning-making On The Ground: (Re)-discovering The Competence Of Interactional Framing In Environmental Conflicts
by Korien van Vuuren-Verkerk, Noelle Aarts and Jan Van der Stoep
Press release
EUPRERA Best Reviewer Award

EUPRERA Best Reviewer Award recognizes the work done by the reviewer because it is an essential contribution to the quality and the success of the review process. This year’s winner is:

Sherry Holladay

from Texas A&M University, USA, who has contributed to careful, thorough and useful reviews

EUPRERA Master Thesis Award

Master Thesis Award for Excellence is an annual prize aimed to celebrate the PR academia and the role performed by European Higher Education Institutions in the evolution of knowledge of this field. The jury, headed by Alexander Buhmann, from BI Norwegian Business School in Norway, selected the winning theses in two categories.

The Head of the jury together with the winners will present the winning works and hints on how to produce an excellent master thesis during a webinar, free and open to everyone, on December 16, from 14.30 to 15.30 CET. More info & registration

Practical Impact Award: Sasha Jurchak

Thesis: Inside an evolving organisation: a framework for assessment
Tutors: Wim Elving, Hanze University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands; Rudiger Theilmann , Leeds Beckett University, UK

Theoretical Impact Award: Daniel Ziegele

Thesis: Work stress among communication professionals. A comparative study between Germany and the United States
Tutors: Ansgar Zerfass, Leipzig University, Germany;
Juan Meng, University of Georgia, USA

Press release

Congratulations to all the winners for their achievement
and thanks to the juries for their huge work!
Stay tuned because soon we’ll announce the
2021 call for papers
as well as the 2021 call for applications for the
master and the PhD awards!